Differential Swap

• DISCLAIMER:

I, Erik Wallebom, are NOT to be held responsible for any problem or damage
    you may encounter on yourself or your car or something else by you doing one or all of the following procedures.
    I am not a professional mechanic and I am sure all this can be done in a better way. But so far my car has been working great.

[COLOR="Navy"]Aquiring the diff. Day one.[/COLOR]

I used http://www.bildelsbasen.se/.
    It is a swedish web site which has a database containing spare parts from wrecked cars in sweden. Very useful.
    I searched for a M5 differential and found a BMW E34 M5 3.91 diff nearby where I live.
    I went there and compared it to a BMW 850 3.15 diff they had in stock to make sure it would fit.
    The housing looked the same. I bought the M5 diff for 5000 SEK (about 500 USD).
    It had been used on a stolen M5 of 12000 km (7500 miles) which had had it's doors and hood disassembled by the thiefs.

This is what the M5 3.91 LS diff looked like when I bought it.

[COLOR="Navy"]Finding a good place where swap could be made. Day two. [/COLOR]

I put the car on jacks in my parents garage. It's not a indoor garage and it was -15 deg. celcius outside. But since I did my lowering springs change last year in a snowy minus environment I though I could stand the cold this time too. But when I laid myself on the back and slided in beneath the car looking at all the screws, nuts and bolts in all the hard to reach places I understood that this was not going to work. I went to the local gas station to see if I could rent a DIY car lift. It would cost me 88 SEK (8,8 USD) per hour. That's not too much if it would take about 10 hours but since it was not an easy job I didn't know how long it would take and also there was a lot of guys washing their cars there so there was a lot of water in the air I decided this was not the right place for a diff. swap.