Xenon Headlights

• At a minimum, replace the "Xenon" bulbs with Halogen bulbs.

The so-called "Xenon" bulbs aren't really Xenon.

They're just regular bulbs coated so that the light looks more blue.

Soapbox mode on:

As a lighting designer I have to chime in after having seen the above quote one time too many.
    Firstly, Xenon is a halogen gas (one of eight if I remember my periodical table correctly, I may be wrong).
    Anyway, the point here is that the reason for using halogens in a filament ("Edison type") lamp is to allow a higher current and thereby a higher filament temperature together with heat resistant quartz glass bulbs.
    This higher temperature gives more light in the visible spectrum with more blue and less red.
    This goes for ALL halogen bulbs.
    Btw, it also gives a shorter lamp life span.

"Xenon light" is the (slightly misleading) vulgar name for a metal-halide discharge lamp (HID type) as used in many high-end cars lately.
    These operate through the creation of an arc as the actual light source.
    This gives very much higher light output, both visible and some UV too.
    They are started by a strike of high voltage, then the voltage drops to 20-50 volts.
    The standard wattage for car arc lamps is 35W (thereby saving some power as well) but the light output can be compared with a 200W halogen bulb.

Normally such a lamp 1) cannot be turned on while hot, and 2) takes a few minutes to light up to full strength from cold state.
    These problems are "bugfixed" with a special gas inside the bulb that "glows" during the first cold minute (that's why they change color after the first minutes) and by using a very high (25-50,000 Volts) strike voltage to light the hot lamps "no matter what".
    Also these lamps need high-precision reflectors since the light source itself is very small.
    This in turn, together with the high luminous flux, makes for the need for a self-levelling system to avoid blinding everybody you meet.