Beiträge von revtor

Zitat von BBMatic;121892

He preferred to use "genuine BMW" GT1 software, though i had expressed a preference for INPA, but this didn't seem to matter. However I must say the device he used, a small handheld scanner , provided very primitive looking data readouts [see photos above]. So maybe I should have been more insistent, I don't know.

Actually DIS (which is what he refers to by genuine BMW GT1 software) is by far the best diagnostic solution. INPA is great for quick fault code reading and clearing, but it does not provide the in-depth information and test plans DIS does. On the other hand, not all electronic systems have the same level of detail in DIS. For some DIS provides no more information than INPA. I have no experience with diagnosing the automatic transmission so I'm not sure what level of detail is present.

Zitat

Does the E31 have a newer, 16-pin OBD2 connector anywhere? I had searched this but kept finding references only to the port under the bonnet. Which is an older style connector. So, I felt pessimistic right from the start because I had assumed there was a later-style OBD2 port inside the cabin which I would find when i stuck my head down by the pedals. But after an extensive search we ended up concluding the E31 hasn't got one..please enlighten me someone?

On M73 E31 there is actually an OBD-II connector hidden behind the dashboard (not so on M62 E31 as far as I know), but if the round under-hood OBD-I connector is present (like on all E31) you should always use that one instead of the OBD-II one! The OBD-II connector does not provide the same functionality as the round diagnostic connector. In fact all OBD-II functionality that's contained in the car is provided through the OBD-I connector.

Zitat

there are some extra shots stuck at the bottom of my post which i cannot figure out how to edit out: those are from the EWS, which i was going to post as a separate post. Can anyone tell me what the EWS is, by the way?