Beiträge von IcemanBHE

I would say that it is something "electrical" Arnie, because it does happen prior to ignition. Could really be anything, but would assume it was something not getting grounded properly (like mine), or something not "testing" to spec (ie voltage, resistance, watts, etc) during the check the car performs.

I do however feel that the electrical system is "quite" different from the E31 due to lack of EKM, as its functionality was split off to other modules.

I would consider reposting your problem there, as quite a few new people have joined.

Its free right?

Brian

Anyone using Kumho Ecsta tires over there? They are quite a good tire and very affordable. Ive been using them for 10 years and currently have all 3 cars outfitted with them. Last set I bought was USD $700 shipped from Tire Rack, mounted/balanced.

Just curious as I dont see much about them on this board.

B

Mr Arnie.
    I suggest you post your fault on bimmerforums.com.
    Overthere we have a wealth of knowledge about the E38s.
    As a E31 board here...lets keep that separate. :)

http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=274

However, just like the E31, the E38s are also very battery voltage dependant. Check battery (ies) and fuses FIRST.

Second, check MAF. We are seeing alot of gremilins with a faulty MAF, due to the complexity of multiplex, even if you do not see a CEL (check engine light).

Third, Start the car, let idle, pull down the passenger visor and open the mirror. If the ignition switch is bad, usually the radio will cut out, CEL come on, steering wheel rises, basically something goofy will happen. Watch closely.

This is a quick and dirty summary and if none of these fix it, bring it over to BFC.

Best E38 board and the E31 board is pretty good also.

Peter. Your welcome. I want your cars up to speed, as Im sure you do. Anything I can do. And post some pics of all those monsters. I wanna see. :)

B