Newbie, new car and service suggestions

• Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie to this as I'm about to collect an 840Ci this morning from a dealer in Birmingham. R plate, 23.5k miles and was serviced last by Rydales in 2001.

I live in Rotherham and was wondering if anybody had any experience of local dealers and/or the BMW 4+ warranty system in this area. I see comments about sytners(v local) and also that graham hill(not local) is good.

I am keen to get it serviced asap so if anybody has any suggestions?

Thanks

Henners

• Have you picked up your 840 yet? only I live in Cheshire which is on your way home and can reccomend great independent here, cheap and very fast.

• Henners hi and welcome, dont be fooled by thinking that taking your new baby to a main dealer is the correct thing to do, most of them hav'nt a frickin clue or can be arsed to be civil to a guy in a old car!!!!!!!!!

That was my exprience so i now use a indipendent for mechanicals etc and my friendly auto electrician for anything that the indipendent does'nt fancy touching , works well ,saves a small fortune.

When i got my 840 it had the extended warranty , but because of my lack of faith in my local dealer and the cost of renewal i choose not to renew the yearly cover.

To date ( 3 yrs ) my cost of parts which could have been claimed back from the bm warranty stands at £84.

3 years warranty would have been in the region of£2500 so draw your own conclusions, i hear that next years extended warranty renewals will be approaching £1550 per annum,!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Any way whoever you choose enjoy your 8.

Those who risk nothing,achieve nothing,become nothing.

• Thanks Guys,

So far It has been to Sytners of Sheffield for the oil service, which appeared to be painless enough and surprisingly cheap.