Advice with front suspension

• I have a UK registered 1994 850 CI Auto which has very recently failed its controle technique (French equivalent of MOT) due to a problem with the near side shock absorber unit. Its not balanced with the offside unit. The vehicle is in France and now on French plates and has electronic suspension with comfort and sports settings available from within the car.

The French garage is not being very helpful with any possible repairs saying the parts are not available. I have tried to research what parts might be necessary but I'm not technically qualified to sort this out. Could anyone help me in pointing me in the right direction regarding what replacement part might be required or possibly offer any suggestions as to what I might me able to do to resolve my difficulties

Many thanks

Martin CROUCH

• Hello Martin, the parts are available (at least here in the UK), but are expensive. The part that is probably causing the lack of symmetry is the strut itself - part 1 here:

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enU…-BMW-850Ci&diagId=31_0158

Some members give up on the EDC and fit standard struts and springs as they are cheaper.

One thing springs to mind though - when the EDC (Electronic Damping Control) fails, the EDC light should come on - and stay on - is that happening? Also, they could try their tests in Sport Mode rather than Comfort mode - that might make a difference.

• Hello Timm

Thank you for your help and advice. In the end I managed to source two standard shock absorbers from Germany and the car is now back on the road minus EDC but with a 2 year Controle Technique certificate.

If I may I have another couple of questions for you: