My next project

• Zitat von paulc8888;96911

must be the angle the original picture was taken at. if it's any help to you i butted the duct up to the central frame. the cut was approx 30mm above that.

cheers fella:top:

Those who risk nothing,achieve nothing,become nothing.

• Zitat von stevep840;96904

I'll be cutting the same center vent in

Steve -- i too think that vent in the picture looks brilliant but i will posit the 'devils advocate' view here merely to ensure that you are (even to a small degree) obliged to consider the matter yet again :mrgreen: (its such a big decision imo).

I think louvres without a centre vent has minimalist appeal. (in a good way possibly).
    This is purely from an aesthetic viewpoint i mean -- one that isn't influenced by 'E31 / Alpina awareness' .
    Its debatable whether the vent fractionally improves or, fractionally detracts from the sheer beauty of the hood as it would otherwise appear. I am no expert with cutting metal but getting every angle 1000% perfect on that job looks tricky as hell.

If you really have to do it, my other suggestion would be reduce the size of it by 2-3mm because to me, those centre vents look like they could lose a tiny amount and still work proportionally with the overall available space.

Just my 2p worth. There is also the minor points that its merely decorative and also that by not putting the centre vent in, you're trying something different that you like, and resisitng the urge to conform.

I agree, conforming with Alpina is about as good as conforming gets, but in my respectful opinion you're a maverick not corporate fodder in the least :o)

EDIT TO ADD: On re-checking the large pictures of that fabulous Alpina 5.7 thats currently for sale, i withdraw my comment about the vent could perhaps be made a little smaller. Its small enough.